Response to Tragedy

I apologize for how slow I have been about blogging. Honestly had a moment of forgetfulness…like wait a second, I have blog? Is that a thing I’m trying to do?

But that is very unimportant to the tragedy our country is facing. I’m not about to pretend that I am a meaningful voice in this, but I feel like I need something to address it.

My thoughts and prayers go out to those affected by the Orlando shooting. And I mean everybody: the victims, the families, the LGBTQ community, the city of Orlando. When each of us are just living our own lives, focused on our particular situations, having an event like this occur really shakes you and puts you back into a more mindful perspective.

No day is promised to us. Waking up every morning and going to bed every night is a gift. We have to make the most of the time we each have on this earth. With that time, we cannot stand idle and allow hate to bubble to the surface.

It really drives me crazy that our country is mourning this disaster, and yet we continue to stand idle to one factor that allows every recent massacre to happen: flawed gun laws. No, I don’t want to become obnoxiously political right now, but it truly is something we need to reconsider. How many mass shootings will it take before people realize that maybe the security of the entire country is worth so much more than a non-restricted right to bear arms?

I don’t want to go into depth about this issue, especially this particular shooting. I am of a majority: Caucasian heterosexual. I will never understand the discrimination that LGBTQ people endure constantly. I have several friends in this community, and to anybody else as well, I fully support your rights, and I will continue fighting for them.

Love is love. Love is for everyone. I would much rather allow laws promoting love than laws promoting possession of weapons.

And with that, I want to again send my thoughts and prayers are with Orlando, and I hope the loss will not be forgotten any time soon, hopefully making a major difference in how we see hate and technology we misuse to fuel it.

Take care, and keep the faith. -Allie

Leave a Reply

