Thank You All

So as usual, I’m writing in advance before you actually see this. But on this day, I have reached a little milestone on my blog: 50 posts. Let’s be honest here, I didn’t think I’d get this far, let alone still be here even after 50 posts. Besides the posts, I somehow managed 35 followers. Which in the retrospect of everything, isn’t that many people, but to me, it’s slightly mind-blowing 35 people actually choose to receive notifications every morning from yours truly.

I apologize in advance if this post gets fairly repetitive from things I’ve already mentioned. Again, I’ve been doing this for many weeks and I’m slightly forgetful, so bear with me. But I’m someone that gets bored very easily. Along with being a perfectionist, if a side project that isn’t dependent on others or grades is starting to bore me, I tend to push it aside to prioritize “more important” activities, usually schoolwork or just nothing when I’m uninspired.

But wow, here I am. Still truckin’ along. This blog has become a very special space for me. I’ve never been one to keep a diary or journal, so I take this blog as an outlet to get my thoughts on topics that I truly care about. And it’s just me here, nobody necessarily judging and editing my words. The only way I can receive a failing grade is if I stop posting…in this case, I would be the one bringing myself the bad news there.

Obviously with my schedule becoming much busier, I’m not as ahead of myself as I was this summer, where I’d have two full weeks ready to go at a time. Now it’s a bit of scrambling in my mind. Or I wander throughout my day, come up with a good idea, but by the time I get to blogging, my mind is a blur. Again, very forgetful.

One of the things I’m most surprised about is the feedback and support I’ve received from so many different people. People who I’ve never met who feel inspired enough to leave amazing comments. Or people from my hometown mentioning me in a midweek update. Or even my family, who have gotten the chance to see a raw side of me I may find difficult sharing on my own. When I was little and first trying my hand at writing, I didn’t really think I could make much from it. That I would have to pursue an “actual” career and keep writing as a side hobby. But from the passion and joy I have from this blog has started convincing me that maybe, just maybe, I can spend my life doing what I love. I see myself working from home, surrounded by dogs and plants and hopefully a rad husband. I’m making my own hours, doing freelance editing and writing. I have some of my work successfully published with critical acclaim. I have the ability to live wherever I choose and even get to travel. Okay, maybe these sound like slightly big dreams, but now that I have an actual image in my mind for what I want in my future, I have no hesitation to go and take it.

If you’re in the same stage as me, no matter what age you are, wondering what to pursue that you will love doing, be honest with yourself. Cliche at it is, listen to what your heart is telling you. We are all on this earth for a purpose. We each have a beautiful gift to share, and once you know what it is, follow the path that will take you there. I’m not saying there won’t be challenges on that path. If your passion is something creative or artistic, you’re certainly have financial burdens to consider. But in the end, the hard work is worth it if you get to wake up every morning excited about what the day brings. Even if you don’t start pursuing anything until later in life, late is better than never. I personally never want to waste away in an office or feel stuck in a position that drags me down. I’m sure I’ll have times where I am in those situations if I’m needing some money or experience, but in the end, my goals are always present. Are these goals nontraditional to a typical career path? Sure they are. But have I ever been one to actually follow the rules exactly? Nope.

With all of that spiel in mind, this blog has lit a spark inside me. It has helped me explore my unique voice. It has helped me draw focus away from my struggles and put my energy toward healing and positivity. It has provided me a project I can put my stamp on, share with the world and be proud of every post I write. WordPress is now always a tab open on my browser, and I don’t plan on closing it any time soon.

These past few months have been very transformative for me. I’m so glad I have this virtual documentation to look back on how far I’ve come, and where I hope to continue going. I’m so excited, but I’m even more excited that you, whoever is reading this, are coming along for the ride. I won’t make any promises, but I’m sure it will be an interesting journey.

Thanks again, everyone. I am so very blessed.

Take care, and keep the faith. -Allie

Leave a Reply

