What Election?

I’m disappointed in myself. But I don’t necessarily blame myself.

November is quickly approaching, as is the the next election. A presidential election, at that. Not only that, but this is the first election I’m voting for a president. I’m someone that usually gets way too excited about voting and how important it is, but right now? I’m a little indifferent right now. Mostly because the results are pretty self-explanatory and I honestly don’t care.

Since we’ve glorified the upcoming election and all of the colorful characters involved, it feels like this election cycle has lasted for years. But it’s not covering any important issues. It’s basically covering a reality TV show. The candidates might as well be the next Kardashians.

We all know how I feel about Bernie Sanders. The Sanders 2016 sticker is still in the back of my car. While in the back of my head, I knew he wasn’t going to be a final nominee, but he gave me hope that I have someone genuine to support, someone that is speaking for everybody. The two people we’re left with? Not so much.

So many people assume that Sanders was simply the cool choice for millennials to stand behind when they aren’t that knowledgeable about politics. Admittedly he does make a fair share of killer memes. But that’s beside the point. I am someone who supports Sanders for his beliefs and message. We need somebody who is down to earth, who is looking out for every single person, who isn’t afraid to push for very progressive policies because that’s what we need. We need forward thinking people who will lead us to a brighter future rather than a stand-in candidate that is either fairly stagnant or goes backwards.

I want to like Hillary, I really do. I dig Bill. But we all know how hard she tries to be hip and relatable. Did you know she started a podcast? Yeah, that’s a little too far. You can’t fake being relatable: you are or you aren’t. She’s a decent politician, but certainly not perfect with the email scandal. And I don’t want to feel like I should like her more since she’s a woman. Super admirable, but even as a feminist, that doesn’t change how I see her as a person. In my opinion, that what feminism is: not setting women to another level simply because she’s a person with more estrogen. I will view her as an equal to men, but even then, she doesn’t fit the bill for me.

Even with my hesitation, I’ll end up voting for her because we all know the alternative. Need I mention the name? He’s basically in the headlines every day for every random instance. I still can’t get over the fact he went on Dr. Oz’s show. One question: Why? I understand people who really don’t like Hillary don’t want to vote for her, but do these people realize she is the lesser of two evils here? Not necessarily evils, they’re all just people, but still.

What makes me the most frustrated about the whole situation is that people, especially younger generations, will probably not go to the polls in November with the choices we’re left with. We’re throwing our democratic rights and responsibilities away. We still need t go and vote for the most deserving candidate. The power is truly in our hands. It’s hard to use that power when we’re sitting at home wishing for better choices. We’ve been given these choices, and we have to work with them and do what’s right.

I also think it’s funny to add that I plan to be in Canada next semester which just so happens to begin before the new president assumes his or her office. I’m literally escaping to Canada for a few months. Which I’m perfectly okay with, especially with somebody like Justin Trudeau in charge. I cannot rave about that man enough. People joke of running off to Canada to avoid a potentially dreadful president, but you can’t just run away from your problems. You have to face them. Thanks, Mother Abbess.

So these next four years might not be the best few out there. Who knows, maybe the next president will blow America away with new insight and ideas. We have to give them a chance. We can’t pull another eight years of half of Americans hating Obama and everything he stands for to singing his praises months before leaving office. Whoever becomes the next president needs support every step of the way. I’m not putting their sticker in my car, but I’m not going to bash them every chance I get. They’ll have enough people from either side of the aisle doubting them from day one.

If anything, let’s take this year’s presidential election as a lesson, or at least a potential outlook for future elections. We can’t let the glorified drama get in the way of the important issues at hand.

And if you were wondering, yes, Michelle Obama should definitely run for president. That woman is a force to be reckoned with.

Take care, and keep the faith. -Allie

Leave a Reply

