Overflowing

If you were wondering I have been spending the morning, I am currently freaking out over the new Green Day album whilst trying to think of blog post ideas and sync up the updates I made to my iTunes library to my phone. Except that part is taking much longer than I had anticipated.

It took me almost 2 years, but I have finally reached the moment of “over capacity” on my storage. Let me tell you, I’ve downloaded my fair share of content over these many days. Kudos to Apple for handling it all.

I know Apple is a love-hate company. Yes, they are very overpriced, especially for the number of features you get and crazy updates they make (cough cough, the new iPhone with no separate headphone jack). But I must admit I am very loyal to Apple. Having my music in one easy place to sync with my device is effortless, until I run out of storage. I know my iPhone will have access to all of the latest apps and upgrades. Everything is very straightforward and simple.

I am saying all of this while using a PC. I grew up using PCs. My family still uses PCs. I did actually want to get a Mac for school, except the prices on those are hard to swallow. My department uses exclusively Apple computers, so it took me long enough, but I have gotten fairly comfortable with the different setup.

Any person with tech knowledge usually tells me how “basic” I am for my commitment to Apple. Because honestly, I don’t need an almost $2,000 computer to use Chrome or watch TV. It’s more of a comfort factor, knowing exactly what I’ll get with Apple, with limited worries of viruses. I probably won’t download much that isn’t Mac compatible. So I see no problem with sticking to my ways.

It’s not even that I’m a sucker for a brand name. I’m not somebody that buys certain things to just say I own that brand like some sort of status symbol. I buy what I like, whatever that might be. Like I’m not complaining about using an HP laptop right now besides the fact I feel bad for sometimes maneuvering it rougher than I’d prefer. Certain items I am fairly dead-set on buying higher quality, like makeup. It’s this strange sort of trust factor I can’t shake.

I almost feel ridiculous for writing about my Apple preferences. I’m lucky enough to have technology in general. In my head, I make such a big deal over bytes of storage or different brands, when there’s others struggling out there to even afford basic necessities. Sorry, this got dark real quick. But it really puts into perspective the value of complaining about these “first world problems” when we should really be complaining about injustice and equality. Why is it so much easier to wrap our heads around a silly headphone jack when we could use some that head space solving widespread issues facing people just outside our front doors.

I didn’t actually intend to take this post in that direction, but that’s the joy of writing. You start on one random idea until my cogs start turning and the important ideas hit me blank in the face. Ones I find very pertinent, and yet they don’t even cross my mind until I’m at lost of creative direction.

For example, the independent student newspaper I work for wrote a great feature about local poverty and food insecurity, but the adviser also involved pointed out the lack of homecoming-related stories. While yes, homecoming activities pertain to students’ interests, isn’t the weekly publication an opportune place to spread awareness about an enduring community problem, much beyond parades and football games?

Heck, even the phone and technology themselves. Who made them? What foreign factories do they come from? How are the workers treated? Do they earn enough to support themselves or their families? This is probably the first time I’m even asking myself these questions, and I’ve been surrounded with technology my whole life. The products we buy and receive every day don’t just pop out of thin air. There are countless people involved with much harder lives than us consumers. When can I find out about them and complain for better working conditions?

It’s a matter of priorities, and what’s considered everyday discussion topics. Bringing up my iPhone storage is much simpler than finding solutions to poverty. Which admittedly makes sense, since poverty is much more complicated. But when it doesn’t affect us directly, we don’t even think about it. But the problems and topics we do think about are nothing in comparison to some of the problems other people are facing. We complain about such superficial things and forget how blessed we truly are.

I’m a college student with no student loans (yet), wearing clean clothes that keep me warm, a body that is healthy and functions well, eating a lunch that sustains me until my next meal, in which I’ll go back to my heated dorm and cozy bed. And I always have my parents’ home, where I am welcomed with love and support. Plus, I’m writing this post about my cell phone, which is paid for every month and will be upgraded to the latest model in a couple months, that I sync with a working computer with accessible wifi and anything else I need. I have little room to complain.

So while I had no intentions of becoming sentimental today, I think we all need that reminder sometimes to really evaluate our lives, every little detail, and express gratitude. Our little setbacks throughout the day are nothing compared to what they could be. Especially if you suffer from an anxiety disorder or just overthinking in general, it’s too easy to blow these obstacles out of proportion and lose sight of what really matters. Our lives so small in the context of society’s melting pot of diversity and problems. If we can look past ourselves and focus our attention on those bigger issues, perhaps a solution will be just around the corner.

Yes, I really like Apple. I have way too much music. But the real problems here require a bit more than just tapping a screen.

Take care, and keep the faith. -Allie

 

Leave a Reply

