Day 2: Writing

This one seems kind of obvious. I’m here right now. I wouldn’t be here without writing and without all the opportunities it has given me. Writing about writing…is this Inception, or…

Anyways, I’m sure I’ve shared my relationship and story involving writing plenty of times already. Reading and writing have always held a special place in my life. I put writing on the back burner for a long time, either because I had no inspiration to write or thought it was a dream that I could never achieve. Wanting to write for a living isn’t going to pay the bills, so what’s the point?

I remember picturing myself as one of those young creative masterminds who writes a publishes a book in high school or earlier. But I also remember sitting down countless times with a vague idea in my head, usually just piggy-backing off of something I just read, and the most I could ever muster was one chapter. I never had the motivation to continue.

Obviously everybody has to write in school. It’s just a fact of life. Some people are okay with it, others despise it. Trust me, I work at my university’s Writing Center, so I’ve seen a variety of opinions. Whenever I’m working, even when I’m having a not-so great day, I find a new drive inside me when I talk about writing. When I can help someone else on how to word sentences and structure paragraphs. Admittedly, it doesn’t sound too exciting, and working with people isn’t always peachy, but in those half hour sessions, I end up having conversations where I feel totally in the zone, like I have a strong voice that guide others. I don’t feel that way very often.

It’s not like I’m a writing master by any means. Never ask me to write poetry or song lyrics or a research paper. I’ve never even gotten into journaling. But when I have the freedom to express my opinion and thoughts, nothing can stop me. I can find that passion at times I wasn’t always sure was there. When I’m at a loss for words, my hands on a keyboard or with pen and paper do the talking.

I also love seeing and reading other people’s writings. The depth behind those words. The stories they can tell. The emotions they can convey. It is so powerful. Our evolution from other living beings is our unique forms of communication. Writing can be history, or art, or science, or really anything. Especially when I think of how broad it can go.

But for a more specific example, writing is my anchor keeping me afloat. It’s a compass guiding in the right direction. I might not know exactly what I want to do in life, but I know, without a doubt, I want to write. This ability is the one I’m most confident in. We have all been given a special talent and purpose for our lives, and I feel like this is mine. I can’t imagine myself doing anything else.

As I’ve said, writing hasn’t always been easy for me. I’ve certainly written things that aren’t too great to read. I used to resent myself for never following through with creative projects. I’ve come across a fair share of harsh critics that doubt my potential. And I’m not one to take criticism well, especially when I put so much hard work into it. Writing has, at times, made me stressed beyond belief. Especially since starting my blog, I can go practically a week without wanting to write anything.

But then I get a spark of motivation and can’t stop myself from letting my mind wander. In those moments, I am unstoppable. My proudest achievements are always my writings, whether they be opinion columns or blog posts or essays.

A main focus in my journalism classes is the importance of story telling and the influence it has on people. Writing gives me the power to create and share my own story, along with others, real or fiction. Writing has provided me opportunities I would have never predicted. I have been able to connect with other people on the deepest of levels. I’ve filled plenty of roles that I never would have earned without my writing.

So today I’m thanking the art of writing and the role it has played in my life. That one hobby that has transformed into my goal. Thank you for giving me a chance to define myself and find a sense of purpose. Thank you for giving me a foundation to fall back on when my confidence has run low. Thank you for giving me a platform to organize the endless stream of thoughts in my mind into something meaningful. Thank you for giving me a tool I can utilize for good.

Words aren’t always pretty. They can hurt. They can provoke negativity and pain and everything else unpleasant. We usually love to use words when figuring out who we are in this world. I am beyond thankful to use the term “writer.” That is who I am. I still have no clue what I exactly want to do in my life. But I hope I can spend my life fulfilling that role, following that passion.

Take care, and keep the faith. -Allie

Leave a Reply

