A Future Direction

With the time I’ve had, I’ve really had to time to think. Sometimes that’s bad, but in this case, it’s good.

I’m ambitious, and when I have an idea in my mind, I go in deep. I probably overthink it, but it’s hopefully not in vain. In this case, I’m thinking about this blog. This fantastic hobby, project, place that I created not even a year ago. And my, what a journey it has been. Never did I expect to continue this long, and I’ve spent several posts explaining that and expressing my gratitude for the endless support I receive. Every view, like, comment, and follower mean the world to me.

Now with this blog, I want to continue moving forward. I crave change and progress. At this point, I love the routine I’ve made out of my posts, my constant search for new ideas and inspiration, but I want to take it a step further. When, who knows, but I have a vision in my head.

When I started to gain momentum on the blog, it opened a new door and possibility for me. I envisioned myself dedicating my time to my biggest passion: writing. I imagined myself living wherever I choose, working from home, making my own schedule and writing about what sparks my attention. I fuel  my creativity. I connect with others how I do best.

That means I have my own website. An actual domain. I would focus mostly on wellness, an all-encompassing concept that involves mind, body and soul. It allows me to touch on subjects like general health, to veganism, to mental health, to spirituality, to the environment, and all the things in between. From the progress I’ve made here in less than a year, just a random person on a WordPress blog saying random things, I have piqued people’s interest somehow, so I believe I could eventually do so on a slightly larger scale.

long-logosmall-logo

Yes, I already decided to design logos of sorts. I kept the name simple in case I would want to change directions in the future. The logo includes a lotus, a symbol that represents rising from a dark place into beauty and rebirth, as this is exactly how a lotus flower grows. Lotus flowers grow directly out of muddy and murky waters and yet flourish and bloom.

The internet and its influence continues to grow every day. From my undergrad studies in media and journalism, I’ve realized the potential it has when effectively using a branding and social media. I could easily see myself playing more with platforms like YouTube, podcasting, and other websites I could expand my outreach further.

What is probably most difficult to me is seeing how to start. I mean, I did just start this blog out of the blue, and here I am. It’s mostly just getting over that initial hesitation and going for it, but in that, I fear failure. I fear it lacks stability, the unknown if it’s actually a sustainable and profitable idea or not. I’m certainly not an expert in this field, and when it comes to first paying for a domain, setting things up, hoping you can engage an audience, and wait. It’s not as easy as just walking into an office every weekday and knowing you’re bringing in something. It truly is a leap of faith.

But if I can find some success, who knows what doors might open up? Except I feel it’s like aspiring creatives auditioning and trying their entire lives for a big break that never happens, and that is scary. It takes guts. You have to be both realistic and optimistic. You have to work in places you might not see a huge future with hoping you can make it work where you truly feel passion. I want to be able to say “Look, I made this opportunity happen for myself, and look where it’s gotten me!”

I want to travel. I want to help others. I want to publish my work for others to see. But ultimately, I just want to be happy. I have to think about my future here as I near the end of my undergrad days next year, and that is slightly terrifying, an unknown that will arrive in a blink of an eye. Perhaps dramatic, but I feel I was put on this earth a reason, and I’m drawn toward a reason involving writing. Any chance to write, on a blog and in future published works, excite me. They feel right.

But it also feels right to so many others. I am a small tadpole in a huge pond I have yet to fully encounter. What would make little ol’ me stand out compared to thousands of others working toward a similar goal? I’d like to say that it’s my drive, my energy that I put toward everything I do, my voice that is willing to speak about uncomfortable topics, and my work ethic willing to pound away at a keyboard day and night until I know I’ve done my best.

So maybe I’ll make this blog into something bigger, maybe not. Maybe I’ll end up in graduate school, maybe not. I really have my horizons open for whatever idea comes my way. And from there, I’m willing to leap.

Take care, and keep the faith. -Allie

Leave a Reply

