Be All There

I want to make a general observation of certain behaviors I see in others. And, chances are, especially pertinent to what I’ll say, they might be things that they aren’t aware of. I know any of us can get into this sort of head space, but it’s all about realizing it.

I don’t want to make it sound like I don’t appreciate my life and the setting around me. While yes, I do move physically and mentally at a speedy pace, I never want to feel like I’m not looking around me and noticing what is going on beyond my own life. The world is just a big place. Things are always going on, and sometimes it’s the most obvious things that can go overlooked.

So I keep myself informed about current events. I make sure to reach out to people regularly to see how things are going in their lives. I try to live intentionally, making habit of activities that make me feel productive and fulfilled. That’s why I consistently come back here to write about the racing thoughts in my head, why I subject myself to online classes during the summer, why I seek out the opportunities that probably require extra work but that I feel will ultimately pay off.

I am by no means telling others how to live their lives. You do you. But I don’t think it’s healthy to live in such a way that is partly blind, or doesn’t put on glasses when they need them. This can be both intentional or not, but either way I find it very harmful to not only yourself but to everyone else around you.

Let’s see if I can actually explain what I mean. It’s living life without being in the present moment. Maybe your head is off somewhere else while you go about your daily tasks. You don’t notice how you’re treating your body. You neglect how the others around you are feeling. You lose touch with those who matter most. It’s gliding around on a cloud without paying attention to the people and landscape below. They look ant-like, too small to be concerned with.

And hey, I’ve been there. Anybody who has gone through a deep phase of depression or any other lower mood has been there, when life becomes a dull shade of some indeterminable color. Nothing much matters at all. I completely empathize with being stuck in a cloudy space without any light breaking through.

But this can even happen without mental illness in the way. Sometimes people just choose to ignore the obvious, especially if it’s uncomfortable. They focus upon certain things and end up forgetting other things. You have to judge what the difference for yourself.

Because ultimately, if you notice yourself in a daze, stuck in a rut of habitual functioning, then hey, that’s the first step. Now it’s time to address it.

Now if it’s mental health related, take care of yourself. Too often depression can turn into victim-hood, its sufferers as martyrs for some unknown cause. With all of the resources available, we don’t have to sit idly by and let ourselves completely succumb to unhealthy tendencies. We can seek help in others, in therapy, in medication, in just simple steps that can make a world of difference. Take the time to slow down and accept your mental health, but don’t let it become a security blanket. That’s a mistake I’ve made many a time, and it only ends up backfiring and losing precious moments. Progress may look like baby steps, but it’s at least getting somewhere.

If you’re in a general rut, try new things. Get outside of your comfort zone. Reach out to friends or family you might have lost touch with. Or even just reach out to people right beside you. Search out new information, challenge your body and mind and spirit. I could go on with vague advice for days, but I am a mere observer of what I see in others that bothers me. It bothers me that people don’t think about simple things like doing a task without being asked or talking to a loved one or not knowing what is happening in the world and, in knowing that much, not doing anything that particularly fuels their passions or somehow makes a difference in their life and that of others.

Does this sound like I’m being too critical? That I’m just complaining over nothing? Life is too short to let days pass by without feeling like you accomplished just one thing that is meaningful to you. We aren’t meant to be living in a senseless funk, but in a kaleidoscopic world full of vibrant colors and events. Especially in the things that are just under our noses, are right in our vicinity, we don’t have much of an excuse of seeing past it.

Maybe it’s uncomfortable, but we cannot leave on blinders and expect to live a full life, to be completely present. If you aren’t willing to change and take charge and responsibility for your life, actions and intentions, then realize that the sentiment isn’t isolated, but affects whoever wants nothing more than for you to be there and aware. It’s an observation that is made from a place of love. You do you, but I hope what you’re doing is rich and meaningful.

Take care, and keep the faith. -Allie

Leave a Reply

